Syncing Mailstore Home Directory to cloud OneDrive

I have been using Mailstore Home successfully for many years. I backup my files from several mail accounts locally from Thunderbird. I do this only manually about once a week. I am in the process of setting up a new computer that will become my main device, and I noticed a warning to not sync Mailstore Home directories via OneDrive or any program like that. I am wondering why that warning?

I use OneDrive primarily as a cloud backup for my files rather than keeping a lot of devices in sync. I have included the Mailstore Home directory for more than a year without any issues. If I could set OneDrive to only backup my Mailstore Home files to the cloud, but not sync the other way, I would do that – but that does not seem to be any option. I will only have Thunderbird active, and do my weekly Mailstore Home backups manually, from my primary device. The other computer (older one) I will keep updated as a backup device in case I need it when something happens to my main device. I could see value in using OneDrive to help me keep all my data directories in sync for when I need to use the backup.

Is this going to cause me any issues? I might be able to understand if I know why Mailstore Home recommends no syncing to the cloud. Thanks.

1 Like

The issue here is that many real-time synchronization tools open files with an exclusive lock while synchronizing, which will block MailStore from accessing the database. Conversely, the sync product needs to access MailStore’s database files which themselves are locked, leaving the cloud version of the database in an inconsistent state.

Instead, copy the files (using MailStore’s own backup feature or by copying the files) manually from MailStore’s Home data directory to OneDrive’s directory while MailStore isn’t running.

1 Like

Good to know. I also use OneDrive as a backup so this is valuable info.